International Strategy for Disaster Reduction
Latin America and the Caribbean   

UN Sasakawa Award on Disaster Reduction
Abouth Sasakawa Award for DR - Nippon Foundation - List Laureates - Conclusions booklet

About the UN Sasakawa Award for Disaster Reduction

Together with the World Health Organization (WHO) Sasakawa Health Prize and the UN Environment Programme (UNEP) Sasakawa Environment Prize, the United Nations Sasakawa Award for Disaster Reduction is one of three prestigious prizes established in 1986 by founding Chairman of the Nippon Foundation,
Mr. Ryoichi Sasakawa.

The total approximate value of the Award is US $50,000, shared between the Laureate and the recipients of Certificates of Distinction and Merit. In addition to the financial prize, the Laureate is presented with the valuable UN Sasakawa Award for Disaster Reduction crystal trophy.

Administered by UN/ISDR, the Laureate and Certificate recipients are agreed upon by the UN Sasakawa Jury, composed of representatives from five continents. The Award presentation ceremony takes place on the occasion of the International Day for Natural Disaster Reduction, the second Wednesday of October.